Venetian Music in the Age of Vivaldi: 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Venetian Music in the Age of Vivaldi

1st Edition

By Michael Talbot


384 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780860787891
pub: 1999-05-04
SAVE ~$39.00

FREE Standard Shipping!


This book contains sixteen essays on Venetian music in its last great period, stretching from the second half of the 17th century to the fall of the Republic in 1797. Two essays deal with musical institutions (academies and conservatories), nine with the life and works of Antonio Vivaldi, and five with contemporaries of Vivaldi active in Venice (Albinoni, Marcello, Vinaccesi). A substantial supplementary chapter updates, and where necessary revises, the facts and arguments of the original essays, which collectively date from the years 1973-1995. All the essays are written in English, but many originally appeared in Italian journals and conference proceedings that are hard for English-speaking readers to obtain. The volume is carefully indexed, enabling the reader easily to make connections between the essays.

Table of Contents

Contents: Introduction; Acknowledgements; Music in Venice: Musical academies in eighteenth-century Venice; Tenors and basses at the Venetian Ospedali; Vivaldi: Vivaldi and the empire; Vivaldi’s Serenatas: long cantatas or short operas?; Vivaldi’s ’Manchester’ sonatas; Vivaldi’s conch concerto; A Vivaldi sonata with obbligato organ in Dresden; Lingua romana in bocca veneziana: Vivaldi, Corelli and the Roman School; Vivaldi and Rome: observations and hypotheses; Vivaldi’s sacred music: the three periods; New light on Vivaldi’s Stabat Mater; Other Venetian Composers: The function and character of the instrumental ritornello in the solo cantatas of Tomaso Albinoni (1671-1751); Albinoni’s oboe concertos; The effects of music: Benedetto Marcello’s cantata Il Timoteo; The Marcian motets of Benedetto Vinaccesi; The Taiheg, the Pira and other curiosities of Benedetto Vinaccesi’s Suonate da camera a tre, Op. 1; Addenda and Corrigenda; Index of musical works and collections; Index of names.

About the Series

Variorum Collected Studies

The first title in the Variorum Collected Studies series was published in 1970. Since then well over 1000 titles have appeared in the series, and it has established a well-earned international reputation for the publication of key research across a whole range of subjects within the fields of history.

The history of the medieval world remains central to the series, with Byzantine studies a particular speciality, but the range of titles extends from Hellenistic philosophy and the history of the Roman empire and early Christianity, through the Renaissance and Reformation, up to the 20th century. Islamic Studies forms another major strand as do the histories of science, technology and medicine.

Each title in the Variorum Collected Studies series brings together for the first time a selection of articles by a leading authority on a particular subject. These studies are reprinted from a vast range of learned journals, Festschrifts and conference proceedings. They make available research that is scattered, even inaccessible in all but the largest and most specialized libraries. With a new introduction and index, and often with new notes and previously unpublished material, they constitute an essential resource. 

For further information about contributing to the series please contact Michael Greenwood at

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
HISTORY / General
MUSIC / General