Victorian Poets : Critical Heritage Set book cover
1st Edition

Victorian Poets
Critical Heritage Set

Edited By

B.C. Southam

ISBN 9780415444187
Published March 9, 2007 by Routledge

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $450.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Comprises of separate volumes on the following: John Clare, Lord Alfred Tennyson, Robert Browning, Arthur Hugh Clough, Gerard Manley Hopkins and Algernon Swinburne.
The Critical Heritage gathers together a large body of critical sources on major figures in literature. Each volume presents contemporary responses to a writer's work, enabling students and researchers to read for themselves, for example, comments on early performances of Shakespeare's plays, or reactions to the first publication of Jane Austen's novels.
The carefully selected sources range from landmark essays in the history of criticism to journalism and contemporary opinion, and little published documentary material such as letters and diaries. Significant pieces of criticism from later periods are also included, in order to demonstrate the fluctuations in an author's reputation.
Each volume contains an introduction to the writer's published works, a selected bibliography, and an index of works, authors and subjects.
The Collected Critical Heritage set will be available as a set of 68 volumes and the series will also be available in mini sets selected by period (in slipcase boxes) and as individual volumes.

Table of Contents

John Clare ISBN 978-0-415-13449-1

Lord Alfred Tennyson ISBN 978-0-415-13450-7

Robert Browning ISBN 978-0-415-13451-4

Arthur Hugh Clough ISBN 978-0-415-13452-1

Gerard Manley Hopkins ISBN 978-0-415-13453-8

Algernon Swinburne ISBN 978-0-415-13454-5

View More