1st Edition

Who Cloned My Cat?
Fun Adventures in Biotechnology



ISBN 9789814267656
Published October 31, 2010 by Jenny Stanford Publishing
178 Pages 93 B/W Illustrations

USD $31.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

"Science is fun!" Is the motto of this fun-filled book by Prof Reinhard Renneberg. Do you know that in Japan, washing machines have no "cooking program" thanks to enzyme detergents? How to make German-style beer from rice? How do you make real snow with dead frost-bacteria? Is using bio-ethanol as a car fuel going against our environment? How can you clone your neighbor's beautiful cat? How to eliminate breast cancer genes before a baby girl is born? Can the financial crisis be solved by breeding better stock market traders? How to measure the fitness of students? The questions are endless.

Cartoonists Manfred Bofinger (Germany) and Ming Fai Chow (Hong Kong) here together with Prof Renneberg, created a fireworks of stories with funny cartoons, which are easily digestable for the layman reader but at the same time will interest even the specialists. Through this collection of inspirational short stories, you will get a complete picture of the latest advances in modern biotechnology with no technical jargons, no equations and no animals harmed!

Table of Contents

Will Biotech Banish Wrinkles Forever?
The Breast Milk of Civilization
The Little Roaring Mouse
Expensive and Often Useless
Computers on the Compost Heap
Hanging on to Hangovers
How Fidel Saved US Biotech
Killing Nemo
007 and the Soup Stock
Glow, Little Fish, Glow!
Aspartame: Nothing but Sweetness
"Irasshaimase, Baioteku"
Vitamin C and the Fly
Magic Bullets Against Cancer
Helping Hands for Your Heart
Nights on the Highway
Doping? No, caterpillar fungus!
Running Out of Phosphate
Snowmax for the Alps?
Praise for the Papaya
Biochemical Bird Market
One Pill for (Almost) Everything?
Sterilized to Perfection
A Tale About a Cold
Biotech at the Barber’s?
Just as Long as It Catches Mice!
Even Bacteria Grow Old
Give Us This Day Our Daily… Mushroom
The Moldy Monopoly
Finding the Fountain of Youth
Hong Kong and the Bird Flu
The Gene Off Switch
Going to the Dogs?
Flipper Gets Artificially Fertilized
Heavily Toxic
Smart Medicines
Digital Intestinal Bacteria
Tamiflu Fever in Hong Kong
Save the Wild Birds!
Depression from Antidepressants?
Mussel Extract Takes On Vioxx®
Clone Trees That Glow in the Dark
A Brief History of Ecstasy
Snuppy, Made in Korea
Molecular Laundresses
My Own Private Genome?
Goethe and the Caffeine
The Cats and the Bird Flu
Malaria on the Ropes
Blue Jeans Bacteria Blues
Academic Dog-Catching
Fighting Infection with Beer
The Secret of the Sour Barrels
The "Red" Crystallographer
Pasteur, Evildoer
The Oil Guzzlers Are Coming
Antibiotic Stinky White Fungus
Praising Ginger
Litmus and Hemp
Another Spoonful of Red Wine?
DNA Caps
Take the Old One
Was Mozart’s Starling a Composer?
Much Smoke About the Heart
From Resignation to WHO
"West Gelman" Eggs for Sale!
DNA and My Ancestors
The Chinese also Come from Africa
Tanking Up with Corn
Competition Is Good for Business
Amino Acids, not Made in Japan!
Busy Bees: It’s All in Their Genes!
Leeuwenhoek’s Wee Beasties
Genetic Engineering in Your Washer
Yams and Cortisone
Xylophagy in My Bookcase
DNA Gunshots into the Sea
Genetic Fingerprints
Biofuel from Wood?
Microbesoft?

...
View More

Author(s)

Biography

Reinhard Renneberg has been professor of analytic biotechnology at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (www.ust.hk) since 1955. He is the author of the extremely successful and much-lauded volume "Biotechnology for Beginners", over 5,300 copies of which have been sold in 18 months. He has also written three other books on biotechnology, including the present volume. He is a co-author of the Roempp Biotechnology Dictionary, has written four monographs and 250 publications and holds 20 patents. In addition, he is involved in two biotechnology companies in Germany and China.

Reviews

"Renneberg's newest book, Who Cloned My Cat?, is a personal journey through the science and politics of biotechnology. Following in the tradition of Lewis Thomas and Stephen J. Gould, Renneberg has created a book perfectly suited for recreational reading, full of scientific wonder and social context."
—Prof. David Goodsell, The Scripps Research Institute, USA

"What a scientific book - interesting and informative! Using many funny illustrations and simple words, biotechnology is no longer a bugaboo for common people. This is the book that experts as well as beginners want to keep at their side."
—Prof. Michihiko Kobayashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan