Who Cloned My Cat?: Fun Adventures in Biotechnology, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Who Cloned My Cat?

Fun Adventures in Biotechnology, 1st Edition

By Renneberg Reinhard

Jenny Stanford Publishing

178 pages | 93 B/W Illus.

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9789814267656
pub: 2010-10-31
SAVE ~$6.39
$31.95
$25.56
x


FREE Standard Shipping!

Description

"Science is fun!" Is the motto of this fun-filled book by Prof Reinhard Renneberg. Do you know that in Japan, washing machines have no "cooking program" thanks to enzyme detergents? How to make German-style beer from rice? How do you make real snow with dead frost-bacteria? Is using bio-ethanol as a car fuel going against our environment? How can you clone your neighbor's beautiful cat? How to eliminate breast cancer genes before a baby girl is born? Can the financial crisis be solved by breeding better stock market traders? How to measure the fitness of students? The questions are endless.

Cartoonists Manfred Bofinger (Germany) and Ming Fai Chow (Hong Kong) here together with Prof Renneberg, created a fireworks of stories with funny cartoons, which are easily digestable for the layman reader but at the same time will interest even the specialists. Through this collection of inspirational short stories, you will get a complete picture of the latest advances in modern biotechnology with no technical jargons, no equations and no animals harmed!

Reviews

"Renneberg's newest book, Who Cloned My Cat?, is a personal journey through the science and politics of biotechnology. Following in the tradition of Lewis Thomas and Stephen J. Gould, Renneberg has created a book perfectly suited for recreational reading, full of scientific wonder and social context."

—Prof. David Goodsell, The Scripps Research Institute, USA

"What a scientific book - interesting and informative! Using many funny illustrations and simple words, biotechnology is no longer a bugaboo for common people. This is the book that experts as well as beginners want to keep at their side."

—Prof. Michihiko Kobayashi, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Table of Contents

Will Biotech Banish Wrinkles Forever?

The Breast Milk of Civilization

The Little Roaring Mouse

Expensive and Often Useless

Computers on the Compost Heap

Hanging on to Hangovers

How Fidel Saved US Biotech

Killing Nemo

007 and the Soup Stock

Glow, Little Fish, Glow!

Aspartame: Nothing but Sweetness

"Irasshaimase, Baioteku"

Vitamin C and the Fly

Magic Bullets Against Cancer

Helping Hands for Your Heart

Nights on the Highway

Doping? No, caterpillar fungus!

Running Out of Phosphate

Snowmax for the Alps?

Praise for the Papaya

Biochemical Bird Market

One Pill for (Almost) Everything?

Sterilized to Perfection

A Tale About a Cold

Biotech at the Barber’s?

Just as Long as It Catches Mice!

Even Bacteria Grow Old

Give Us This Day Our Daily… Mushroom

The Moldy Monopoly

Finding the Fountain of Youth

Hong Kong and the Bird Flu

The Gene Off Switch

Going to the Dogs?

Flipper Gets Artificially Fertilized

Heavily Toxic

Smart Medicines

Digital Intestinal Bacteria

Tamiflu Fever in Hong Kong

Save the Wild Birds!

Depression from Antidepressants?

Mussel Extract Takes On Vioxx®

Clone Trees That Glow in the Dark

A Brief History of Ecstasy

Snuppy, Made in Korea

Molecular Laundresses

My Own Private Genome?

Goethe and the Caffeine

The Cats and the Bird Flu

Malaria on the Ropes

Blue Jeans Bacteria Blues

Academic Dog-Catching

Fighting Infection with Beer

The Secret of the Sour Barrels

The "Red" Crystallographer

Pasteur, Evildoer

The Oil Guzzlers Are Coming

Antibiotic Stinky White Fungus

Praising Ginger

Litmus and Hemp

Another Spoonful of Red Wine?

DNA Caps

Take the Old One

Was Mozart’s Starling a Composer?

Much Smoke About the Heart

From Resignation to WHO

"West Gelman" Eggs for Sale!

DNA and My Ancestors

The Chinese also Come from Africa

Tanking Up with Corn

Competition Is Good for Business

Amino Acids, not Made in Japan!

Busy Bees: It’s All in Their Genes!

Leeuwenhoek’s Wee Beasties

Genetic Engineering in Your Washer

Yams and Cortisone

Xylophagy in My Bookcase

DNA Gunshots into the Sea

Genetic Fingerprints

Biofuel from Wood?

Microbesoft?

About the Author

Reinhard Renneberg has been professor of analytic biotechnology at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (www.ust.hk) since 1955. He is the author of the extremely successful and much-lauded volume "Biotechnology for Beginners", over 5,300 copies of which have been sold in 18 months. He has also written three other books on biotechnology, including the present volume. He is a co-author of the Roempp Biotechnology Dictionary, has written four monographs and 250 publications and holds 20 patents. In addition, he is involved in two biotechnology companies in Germany and China.

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MED009000
MEDICAL / Biotechnology
SCI010000
SCIENCE / Biotechnology
SCI086000
SCIENCE / Life Sciences / General