1st Edition

Worlds of Irving Howe
The Critical Legacy

ISBN 9781594510250
Published April 15, 2007 by Routledge
390 Pages

USD $88.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

The Worlds of Irving Howe: The Critical Legacy is a wide-ranging anthology of criticism devoted to the literary, cultural, and political work of the writer Irving Howe. The book offers a broad cross-section of critical and biographical writings about Howe. Collected here are assessments of Howe's work written by some of the most prominent intellectuals of the twentieth century, among them Lionel Trilling, Alfred Kazin, C. Vann Woodward, Robert Coles, Daniel Bell, Malcolm Cowley, and Arthur Schlesinger. The critical estimates of Howe's major books, collected here and framed by a major biographical introduction by John Rodden, constitute a sharply focused lens through which readers can re-evaluate the legacy of one of American's leading intellectuals and thereby understand the main issues of twentieth-century Anglo-American cultural history. Contributors: Lionel Trilling, Alfred Kazin, C. Vann Woodward, Newton Arvin, Charles Angoff, Edward Dahlberg, Isaac Rosenfeld, Richard Chase, H.D. Lasswell, Dennis Wrong, Michael Harrington, Christopher Lasch, Robert Coles, Daniel Bell, Malcolm Cowley, Arthur Schlesinger, Theodore Solotaroff, Clive James, Norman Podhoretz, Irving Kristol, and William Phillips, among others.

Table of Contents

Note on Annotations Chronology Introduction: The Worlds of Irving Howe, by John Rodden I. Labor Historian and Literary Biographer-Critic The UAW and Walter Reuther (1949) Sherwood Anderson (1951) William Faulkner (1952) II. Editor-Translator, Literary Essayist, and Political Historian A Treasury of Yiddish Stories (1954) Politics and the Novel (1957) The American Communist Party (1958) Modern Literary Criticism (1959) A World More Attractive (1964) III. Polemicist and Cultural Diagnostician Steady Work (1966) The Radical Imagination (1967) Thomas Hardy (1967) Decline of the New (1970) The Seventies (1973) IV. Scholar-Critic and Autobiographer World of Our Fathers (1976) Leon Trotsky (1978) Celebrations and Attacks (1979) V. Elegist and Memoirist A Margin of Hope (1982) Socialism and America (1985) The American Newness (1986) Selected Writings, 1950 - 1990 (1990) VI. Posthumous Celebrations and Attacks Obituaries and Memorials (1993) Index About the Editor

View More