Cultural Studies: Cultural Theory

  • The Nostalgic Sublime and the Role of Terror in Contemporary Culture book cover

    The Nostalgic Sublime and the Role of Terror in Contemporary Culture

    By Matthew Leggatt

    This book re-examines the role of the sublime across a range of disparate cultural texts, from architecture and art, to literature, digital technology, and film, detailing a worrying trend towards nostalgia and arguing that, although the sublime has the potential to be the most powerful uniting…

    Hardback – 2017-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Cultural and Media Studies

  • Geographies of Digital Culture book cover

    Geographies of Digital Culture

    Edited by Tilo Felgenhauer, Karsten Gäbler

    The book explores the emerging spatial aspects of digital media from a cultural geographic perspective. It brings together a range of established and newly-emerging scholars to address the complex new spatialities of everyday practices associated with digital cultures and digital technologies. It…

    Hardback – 2017-09-30 
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Culture, Space and Identity

  • Cultural Dynamics in a Globalized World: Proceedings of the Asia-Pacific Research in Social Sciences and Humanities, Depok, Indonesia, November 7-9, 2016: Topics in Arts and Humanities book cover

    Cultural Dynamics in a Globalized World

    Proceedings of the Asia-Pacific Research in Social Sciences and Humanities, Depok, Indonesia, November 7-9, 2016: Topics in Arts and Humanities

    Edited by Abidin Kusno, Melani Budianta, Mikihiro Moriyama, Manneke Budiman

    The book contains essays on current issues in arts and humanities in which peoples and cultures compete as well as collaborate in globalizing the world while maintaining their uniqueness as viewed from cross- and inter-disciplinary perspectives. The book covers areas such as literature, cultural…

    Hardback – 2017-09-30 
    CRC Press

  • Human-Animal Studies book cover

    Human-Animal Studies

    Edited by Susan McHugh, Garry Marvin

    Human-Animal Studies is a burgeoning multidisciplinary enterprise. Human-Animal Studies places the relationships humans have with other animals, and the relations other animals have with humans, at the centre of scholarly enquiry, artistic practice, and political critique. It draws from, and…

    Hardback – 2017-09-22 
    Routledge
    Critical Concepts in the Social Sciences

  • Temporality and Shame: Perspectives from Psychoanalysis and Philosophy book cover

    Temporality and Shame

    Perspectives from Psychoanalysis and Philosophy

    Edited by Ladson Hinton, Hessel Willemsen

    Temporality has been a central preoccupation of modern philosophy, and shame has been a major theme in contemporary psychoanalysis. To date, however, there has been little examination of the critical connection between these core experiences. Although they deeply implicate each other, no single…

    Paperback – 2017-09-19 
    Routledge
    Philosophy and Psychoanalysis

  • Youth, Class and Everyday Struggles book cover

    Youth, Class and Everyday Struggles

    By Steven Threadgold

    The concept of everyday struggles can enliven our understanding of the lives of young people and how social class is made and remade. This book invokes a Bourdieusian spirit to think about the ways young people are pushed and pulled by the normative demands directed at them from an early age,…

    Hardback – 2017-09-13 
    Routledge
    Youth, Young Adulthood and Society

  • Soviet Postcolonial Studies: A View from the Western Borderlands book cover

    Soviet Postcolonial Studies

    A View from the Western Borderlands

    By Epp Annus

    Postcolonial studies is a well-established academic field, rich in theory, but it is based mostly on postcolonial experiences in former West European colonial empires. This book takes a different approach, considering postcolonial theory in relation to the former Soviet bloc. It both applies…

    Hardback – 2017-09-11 
    Routledge
    BASEES/Routledge Series on Russian and East European Studies

  • Toward a Chican@ Hip Hop Anticolonialism book cover

    Toward a Chican@ Hip Hop Anticolonialism

    By Pancho McFarland

    Toward a Chican@ Hip Hop Anti-Colonialism makes visible the anti-colonial, alterNative politics in hip hop texts created by Chican@s and Xican@s (indigenous-identified people of Mexican descent in the US). McFarland builds on indigenous knowledge, anarchism, and transnational feminism to identify…

    Hardback – 2017-09-11 
    Routledge
    Routledge Focus on Latina/o Popular Culture

  • Trauma and the Ontology of the Modern Subject: Historical Studies in Philosophy, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis book cover

    Trauma and the Ontology of the Modern Subject

    Historical Studies in Philosophy, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis

    By John L. Roberts

    Recent scholarship has inquired into the socio-historical, discursive genesis of trauma. Trauma & the Ontology of the Modern Subject, however, seeks what has not been actualized in trauma studies – that is, how the necessity and unassailable intensity of trauma is fastened to its historical…

    Paperback – 2017-09-06 
    Routledge

  • Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture: Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom book cover

    Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

    Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom

    By Lu Chen

    How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship is quite stable before 2016? Avid fans in China are…

    Hardback – 2017-09-04 
    Routledge
    Routledge Contemporary China Series

  • At War with the Obvious: Disruptive Thinking in Psychoanalysis book cover

    At War with the Obvious

    Disruptive Thinking in Psychoanalysis

    By Donald Moss

    Psychoanalytic thought has already transformed our basic assumptions about the psychic life of individuals and cultures. Those assumptions often take on the valence of common sense. However, this can mean that their original and important meanings often become obscured. Disruptive ideas become…

    Paperback – 2017-09-01 
    Routledge

  • Digital Memory Studies: Media Pasts in Transition book cover

    Digital Memory Studies

    Media Pasts in Transition

    Edited by Andrew Hoskins

    Digital media, networks and archives reimagine and revitalize individual, social and cultural memory but they also ensnare it, bringing it under new forms of control. Understanding these paradoxical conditions of remembering and forgetting through today’s technologies needs bold interdisciplinary…

    Paperback – 2017-08-30 
    Routledge

2Series in Cultural Theory

Product Search