Cultural Studies: Subcultures

  • Hip Hop Versus Rap: The Politics of Droppin' Knowledge book cover

    Hip Hop Versus Rap

    The Politics of Droppin' Knowledge, 1st Edition

    By Patrick Turner

    'What is the real hip hop?' 'To whom does hip hop belong?' 'For what constructive purposes can hip hop be put to use?' These are three key questions posed by hip hop activists in Hip Hop Versus Rap, which explores the politics of cultural authenticity, ownership, and uplift in London’s post-hip hop…

    Paperback – 2019-09-30 
    Routledge
    Routledge Advances in Ethnography

  • Queercore: Queer Punk Media Subculture book cover

    Queercore

    Queer Punk Media Subculture, 1st Edition

    By Curran Nault

    Queercore is a queer and punk transmedia movement that was instigated in 1980s Toronto via the pages of the underground fanzine ("zine") J.D.s. Authored by G.B. Jones and Bruce LaBruce, J.D.s. declared "civil war" on the punk and gay and lesbian mainstreams, consolidating a subculture of likeminded…

    Paperback – 2019-07-12
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Gender, Sexuality, and Media

  • Fashion and Masculinities in Popular Culture book cover

    Fashion and Masculinities in Popular Culture

    1st Edition

    By Adam Geczy, Vicki Karaminas

    Popular culture in the latter half of the twentieth century precipitated a decisive change in style and body image. Postwar film, television, radio shows, pulp fiction and comics placed heroic types firmly within public consciousness. This book concentrates on these heroic male types as they have…

    Paperback – 2019-04-15
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Cultural and Media Studies

  • Skinhead History, Identity, and Culture book cover

    Skinhead History, Identity, and Culture

    1st Edition

    By Kevin Borgeson, Robin Valeri

    Skinheads go beyond the societal stereotype of hate mongers, bigots, and Neo-Nazis. The community of skins also includes traditional skins (those that adhere to the original philosophy of the British movement in 1969), Skinheads Against Racial prejudice (SHARPS), and gay skins, female skins and…

    Paperback – 2019-03-28
    Routledge

  • Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture: Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom book cover

    Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

    Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom, 1st Edition

    By Lu Chen

    How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship is quite stable before 2016? Avid fans in China are…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Junior and Youth Grassroots Football Culture: The Forgotten Game book cover

    Junior and Youth Grassroots Football Culture

    The Forgotten Game, 1st Edition

    Edited by Jimmy O'Gorman

    Football is ubiquitously acknowledged as ‘The Global Game’ and/or ‘The People’s Game’ – everyday all-encompassing terms familiar to anyone with an interest in football which illustrate, albeit nebulously, the game’s international reach and popularity. Yet much academic and popular attention has…

    Paperback – 2019-01-17
    Routledge
    Sport in the Global Society – Contemporary Perspectives

  • Children and Media in India: Narratives of Class, Agency and Social Change book cover

    Children and Media in India

    Narratives of Class, Agency and Social Change, 1st Edition

    By Shakuntala Banaji

    Is the bicycle, like the loudspeaker, a medium of communication in India? Do Indian children need trade unions as much as they need schools? What would you do with a mobile phone if all your friends were playing tag in the rain or watching Indian Idol? Children and Media in India illuminates the…

    Paperback – 2019-01-14
    Routledge

  • Japanese Popular Culture and Contents Tourism book cover

    Japanese Popular Culture and Contents Tourism

    1st Edition

    Edited by Philip A. Seaton, Takayoshi Yamamura

    Contents tourism is tourism induced by the contents (narratives, characters, locations and other creative elements) of films, novels, games, manga, anime, television dramas and other forms of popular culture. Amidst the boom in global interest in Japanese popular culture, the utilization of popular…

    Paperback – 2019-01-08
    Routledge

  • Spiritualizing the City: Agency and Resilience of the Urban and Urbanesque Habitat book cover

    Spiritualizing the City

    Agency and Resilience of the Urban and Urbanesque Habitat, 1st Edition

    Edited by Victoria Hegner, Peter Jan Margry

    Urban spaces have always functioned as cradles and laboratories for religious movements and spiritualities. The urban forms a central and nourishing agent for the creation of new religious expressions, and continually negotiates new ways of being spiritual and establishing spiritual ideas and…

    Paperback – 2018-08-06
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Urbanism and the City

  • Graffiti and Street Art: Reading, Writing and Representing the City book cover

    Graffiti and Street Art

    Reading, Writing and Representing the City, 1st Edition

    Edited by Konstantinos Avramidis, Myrto Tsilimpounidi

    Graffiti and street art images are ubiquitous, and they enjoy a very special place in collective imaginary due to their ambiguous nature. Sometimes enigmatic in meaning, often stylistically crude and aesthetically aggressive, yet always visually arresting, they fill our field of vision with texts…

    Paperback – 2018-05-02
    Routledge

  • Intimacy on the Internet: Media Representations of Online Connections book cover

    Intimacy on the Internet

    Media Representations of Online Connections, 1st Edition

    By Lauren Rosewarne

    The focus of this book is on the media representations of the use of the Internet in seeking intimate connections—be it a committed relationship, a hook-up, or a community in which to dabble in fringe sexual practices. Popular culture (film, narrative television, the news media, and advertising)…

    Paperback – 2018-04-25
    Routledge

  • The DIY Movement in Art, Music and Publishing: Subjugated Knowledges book cover

    The DIY Movement in Art, Music and Publishing

    Subjugated Knowledges, 1st Edition

    By Sarah Lowndes

    This book considers the history of Do It Yourself art, music and publishing, demonstrating how DIY strategies have transitioned from being marginal, to emergent, to embedded. Through secondary research, observation and original interviews, each chapter details the peak period of a city’s…

    Paperback – 2018-04-25
    Routledge

5Series in Subcultures

Product Search