Dawn of Democracy in the Eastern Himalayan Kingdoms : The 20th Century book cover
1st Edition

Dawn of Democracy in the Eastern Himalayan Kingdoms
The 20th Century

ISBN 9780367733018
Published December 18, 2020 by Routledge India
190 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $48.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book traces the beginnings of democracy in the three Himalayan kingdoms of Sikkim, Nepal and Bhutan. Charting the mobilisations and political experimentations that took place in the former buffer states under monarchies to establish democratic regimes, this book investigates their varying degrees of success, and offers a critical commentary on the consequent socio-political histories of this region.

The volume sheds light on the nuances of their different geo-political contexts of the three Himalayan states, while tracing the social origins of the movements. It also undertakes a close analysis of the political participation and leadership involved to understand their achievements and limitations.       

A comprehensive analysis of a hitherto unexplored chapter in South Asian history, it will be of an immense interest to scholars and researchers of international relations, modern history, sociology and social anthropology, politics, South Asian studies, area studies, especially Nepal and Himalayan studies, as well as policy makers and government think tanks.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction 2. Eastern Himalayan Kingdoms: Nepal, Sikkim and Bhutan 3. Dream of Democracy in The Eastern Himalayan Kingdoms 4. Darjeeling, the Fulcrum of the Nepalese Renaissance 5. Democratic Movement in Sikkim and Sikkim State Congress 6. Nepali Congress, Muktivahini and Democratic Experiment in Nepal 7. Bhutan State Congress: A Premature Democratic Experiment 8. Democratic Experiments and Reassertion of The Feudal Order

View More



Awadhesh C. Sinha has been a professor of Social Sciences at Gujarat Vidyapeeth, Ahmedabad, Indian Institutes of Technology, Kanpur and Delhi, India. He has also served as the Dean, School of Social Sciences, North Eastern Hill University, Shillong and as a former ICSSR National Fellow at Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, Teen Murti House, New Delhi.