Individual Development and the Curriculum  book cover
1st Edition

Individual Development and the Curriculum

ISBN 9780415753319
Published April 10, 2014 by Routledge
194 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
SAVE $11.99
was $59.95
USD $47.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book describes four ‘layers’ or stages of education – Mythic, Romantic, Philosophic and Ironic and shows how children at each stage most effectively learn, and how they can be helped towards educational maturity. While drawing on a wide range of philosophical and psychological literature, this new theory is primarily constructed from close observation of children in their common and intense imaginative engagements, and in everyday educational practice.

Table of Contents

1. The Mythic Stage. 2 The Romantic Stage. 3 The Philosophic Stage. 4 The Ironic Stage. 5 Some Comments on the Stages. 6 Sensitive Periods and Content. 7 Curriculum Areas. Conclusions. Index.

View More



Kieran Egan


‘This book deserves to be read. It should be given a prominent position in curriculum discourse.’ Journal of Curriculum Studies

‘Like all good books this one makes one think well beyond the confines of its immediate concerns.’ The Times Educational Supplement