Music, Structure, Thought: Selected Essays: 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Music, Structure, Thought: Selected Essays

1st Edition

By James Hepokoski


378 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780754628521
pub: 2009-08-18
SAVE ~$45.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315090733
pub: 2017-07-05
from $28.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Among the most original and provocative musicological writers of his generation, James Hepokoski has elaborated new paradigms of inquiry for both music history and music theory. Advocating fundamental shifts of methodological reorientation within the quest for potential musical meanings, his work spans both disciplines and offers substantial challenges for each. At its core is the conviction that a close study of musical genres, procedures, and structures”those qualities of a composition that are specifically musical”is essential to any responsible hermeneutic enterprise. Selected from writings from 1984 to 2008, this collection of essays provides a generous introduction to the author’s most innovative and influential work on a wide variety of topics: musicological methodology, issues of staging and performance, Italian opera, program music, and exemplary studies of individual pieces.

Table of Contents

Contents: Introduction; Complete bibliography; Part 1 Historiography, History, Methodology: The Dahlhaus project and its extra-musicological sources; Beethoven reception: the symphonic tradition; Some grounding principles of sonata theory. Part 2 Italian Operwa: Ottocento opera as cultural drama: generic mixtures in Il Trovatore; Staging Verdi's operas: the single 'correct' performance; Operatic stagings: positions and paradoxes: a reply to David J. Levin; Structure, implication and the end of Suor Angelica; Un bel dì? Vedremo! Anatomy of a delusion. Part 3 Structure and Content: Shorter Essays: Formulaic openings in Debussy; Culture clash; Masculine/feminine; Temps perdu. Part 4 Symphonic Readings: Fiery-pulsed libertine or domestic hero? Strauss's Don Juan reinvestigated; Framing Till Eulenspiegel; Gaudery, romance and the 'Welsh' tune: Introduction and Allegro, Op. 47; Index.

About the Author

James Hepokoski is Professor in the Department of Music, Yale University, USA.

About the Series

Ashgate Contemporary Thinkers on Critical Musicology Series

Ashgate Contemporary Thinkers on Critical Musicology Series

The titles in this series bring together a selection of previously published and some unpublished essays by leading authorities in the field of critical musicology. The essays are chosen from a wide range of publications and so make key works available in a more accessible form. The authors have all made a selection of their own work in one volume with an introduction which discusses the essays chosen and puts them into context. A full bibliography points the reader to other publications which might not be included in the volume for reasons of space. The previously published essays are published using the facsimile method of reproduction to retain their original pagination, so that students and scholars can easily reference the essays in their original form.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MUSIC / General